ezFolk Home MP3 Section Tabs & Tutorials Forums - Newest Messages Musical Instruments Books, CDs, & DVDs Other Stuff
ezFolk Forums Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
ezFolk Forums > General > General > A seemingly new email scam

 Moderated by: Tony Provencher, Richard Hefner
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
A seemingly new email scam  Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: Thu Jan 15th, 2009 09:52 am
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
ejsant
Approved


Joined: Fri Aug 4th, 2006
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 394
Instrument Interest: Guitar, Other
Status: 
Offline
Greetings all,

The message below turned up on another discussion site.  Perhaps we all are savvy enough to avoid these types of scams or perhaps not, especially given tough times financially.  Fore warned is fore armed!

All the best!

Peace,
Ed

*****

Date: Wed, 14 Jan 2009
From: Craig Heilman
Subject: New type of email scam aimed at musicians!

Hi all,

I haven't seen anything specific about this on snopes.com but I and
another musician friend have recently started receiving emails that
are obviously a scam. These emails have been coming in from yahoo
accounts. Here's an example email I received from someone inquiring
about taking pipe lessons:


**********
Hello,

Thank you for your email. I will be happy to have my 15 and 16 yrs
old children, Nelson & Delilah to join you in your private tuition.
So my children's first language is English, best hobby is reading &
study, they are enthusiastic,very patient and very good children.As
a beginners,they are interested to learning the basics and i hope
you can accept them as your student?.


I will want you to assure me that you are going to take proper care
of teaching them as I'm ready to pay all the necessary expenses for
the lessons. I will want the tutor to hold for 4 weeks which consist
of one hour for each of them everyday day, two days in a week if
possible. I have someone that will always drive them to your area for
the lesson. I will like to know your total cost for teaching both of
them for 4 weeks. Please let me hear from you as soon as you receive
this mail, so that we'll make an arrangement on when to start and
payment (by cashier's check). Hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you,
Andrews


The clues to me that this is a scam are the poor grammar, yahoo
address, he wants to pay all expenses up front via cashier's check
(common scam is to send check for more than the request amount, then
ask for refund via regular check), and the fact that other's have
received similar messages. Here's another example:

Dear <name deleted>,

Good day to you over there,i am Mr Derek Williamson I want a
folks and Music Teacher for my daughter (Lara Williamson), I got
your advert while searching for folks and music lessons through the
internet and I really want my daughter to be taught by you. Lara is
16 year old and easily catch up. Although,I understand you are in
America but I 've arranged with my cousin sister resides there in
America that my daughter is coming to stay with her for her period
of tutoring and she had agreed with me,I want you to get back to me
with following information:


1)what parts of America you are presently
2)total cost of tutoring for 6 weeks(30 min every day for 5 days in
a week)
3)your years of teaching experience.

Looking forward to hearing from you soonest.

Thank you.
Mr Derek Williamson
**********

Just a heads up folks! I wouldn't be surprised if this is simply a new
variant of the Nigerian cashier's check scam (see <http://www.snopes.com/crime/fraud/cashier.asp
for details) targeted at musicians.

Craig

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Craig A. Heilman
Bugaboo Software - Software Engineering & Consulting
http://www.bugsoft.com/
*****



____________________
Peace, a brilliant aspiration!!!

Traditional and Contemporary Irish Music

P.O. Box 5086
Phillipsburg, NJ 08865
(201) 424-6141

http://www.EdSaultz.com
http://www.ezfolk.com/audio/Ed_Saultz
Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

 Posted: Thu Jan 15th, 2009 01:27 pm
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
AmyDK
Approved
 

Joined: Fri Jan 27th, 2006
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 518
Instrument Interest: Guitar, Mandolin, Fiddle, Other
Status: 
Offline
Just what we need.

And we all know that we musicians make so much money that we're a likely target...

Crazy.



____________________
Amy's ezFolk page
Amy on MySpace
My Website
Back To Top PM Quote Reply

 Posted: Thu Jan 15th, 2009 05:55 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
Philj200
Approved


Joined: Thu Jun 2nd, 2005
Location: Sea Cliff, New York USA
Posts: 1642
Instrument Interest: Clawhammer Banjo, Bluegrass Banjo, Guitar, Harmonica, Dulcimer, Mandolin, Fiddle, Autoharp, Other
Status: 
Offline
If you list yourself here and/or elsewhere as a teacher they are on your like leeches. I've been approached three times. Just trash the e-mail and move on.

     Now what do I do with the sixteen teenagers camping out in my living room?



____________________
My MP3 Section: http://ezfolk.com/audio/bands/1143/
My Myspace area: http://myspace.com/philj200
Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

 Posted: Thu Jan 15th, 2009 06:38 pm
  PM Quote Reply
4th Post
AmyDK
Approved
 

Joined: Fri Jan 27th, 2006
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 518
Instrument Interest: Guitar, Mandolin, Fiddle, Other
Status: 
Offline
popcorn and a movie?? :)



____________________
Amy's ezFolk page
Amy on MySpace
My Website
Back To Top PM Quote Reply

 Posted: Thu Jan 15th, 2009 07:45 pm
  PM Quote Reply
5th Post
Philj200
Approved


Joined: Thu Jun 2nd, 2005
Location: Sea Cliff, New York USA
Posts: 1642
Instrument Interest: Clawhammer Banjo, Bluegrass Banjo, Guitar, Harmonica, Dulcimer, Mandolin, Fiddle, Autoharp, Other
Status: 
Offline
How do you say "Clawhammer" in Sawhili?

 

Added later: Before the PCers get on me; many of these scams originate in central Africa where the lingua franca is Sawhili. Do the scammers abroad think Americans at THAT dumb?

Last edited on Thu Jan 15th, 2009 08:22 pm by Philj200



____________________
My MP3 Section: http://ezfolk.com/audio/bands/1143/
My Myspace area: http://myspace.com/philj200
Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

 Posted: Thu Jan 15th, 2009 08:02 pm
  PM Quote Reply
6th Post
ejsant
Approved


Joined: Fri Aug 4th, 2006
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 394
Instrument Interest: Guitar, Other
Status: 
Offline
I'd sometimes get as many as five a day when I still had my online antiques shop. Some were very creative. They would invariably pick one of the most expensive items I had in inventory.

Plays on greed and we all know how strong that emotion can be in folks.

Staying somewhat warm although we didn't drop below zero yet, might tonight the prediction warns.

All the best and keep warm. Maybe give a homeless person a blanket today. I'm off to do that now.

Peace,
Ed



____________________
Peace, a brilliant aspiration!!!

Traditional and Contemporary Irish Music

P.O. Box 5086
Phillipsburg, NJ 08865
(201) 424-6141

http://www.EdSaultz.com
http://www.ezfolk.com/audio/Ed_Saultz
Back To Top PM Quote Reply

 Posted: Thu Jan 15th, 2009 10:37 pm
  PM Quote Reply
7th Post
banjo brad
Super Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 14th, 2004
Location: Tucson, Arizona USA
Posts: 2806
Instrument Interest: Ukulele, Clawhammer Banjo, Guitar, Harmonica, Dulcimer, Fiddle
Status: 
Offline
This particular scam has been around since at least 2000. I heard of it on Banjo-L back then, and have since seen it quite often.



____________________
ezFolk Help

Brad
Prickly Pear Music
Banjo Brad's ezFolk page
TOTMC
Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

 Posted: Fri Jan 16th, 2009 06:32 pm
  PM Quote Reply
8th Post
mcep11
Approved


Joined: Thu Nov 20th, 2008
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 31
Instrument Interest: Ukulele, Autoharp, Other
Status: 
Offline
A PC note to Philj200:

lol.  The Nigerian email scammers are probably speaking Yoruba or Ebo dialects. :^)

He said.

hiho

Back To Top PM Quote Reply

Current time is 02:12 am  
ezFolk Forums > General > General > A seemingly new email scam Top




UltraBB 1.17 Copyright © 2007-2008 Data 1 Systems
Page processed in 0.4674 seconds (8% database + 92% PHP). 24 queries executed.